How do I sync my roster in Canvas?

There may be times when you want to assign a grade for a student who has not turned in an assignment. The LTI integration with Canvas will automatically add students to the VeriCite roster when they log in to your course and open an assignment in your Canvas site. However, if a student never logs in to the Canvas course at all, or never opens an assignment which uses VeriCite, you may need to sync your roster in order to assign that student a grade.

Note: Keep in mind that in order to enter a grade for a user, the user must have a Student role and the VeriCite assignment must be both gradable and published.

In the People tab, the student appears in the list.

In this example, Demo Student2 has accepted the course invite for the Canvas site, but has not opened any of the VeriCite assignments in the course.

However, when you select a VeriCite assignment to grade, the student is not available in the list to enter a score.

Go to Setup > Manage Users > Sync Canvas Roster.

Click Log in to allow access.

Click Log in to allow access.

The first time you sync the roster, you will be prompted to allow access. Once you have completed this step, you won't need to do it again.

You will receive a confirmation message and VeriCite will now display all students from the Canvas roster under Manage Users.

Now, when you go to any assignment in your site, the entire student roster will display.

Approved Integrations appear under Canvas User Settings.

If you ever need to delete or modify the VeriCite authorized access for your user account in Canvas, go to your User Settings by clicking on your name in the top right of the screen, and then go to Settings in the left navigation menu. The Approved Integrations appear on this page and you should see VeriCite listed after you have approved it. If you delete VeriCite from the access list, you will need to allow access again the next time you sync your roster.